This report covers the activities of the Technical Committee on Underwater Acoustics (TCUW) and its members during the period from June 2019 and May 2020.

The 178th Acoustical Society of America (ASA) meeting was held in San Diego, CA during 2-6 Dec 2019. Special thanks to Peter Gerstoft (Meeting Chair), Aaron Thode (Tech. Prog. Chair) and Tim Duda (TPO Rep.) for their contributions to an excellent meeting! The TCUW meeting was held on Thursday, 5 Dec. 2019, with approximately 60 members in attendance. Congratulations for the best student papers at the Louisville meeting: First place went to Brandon M. Lee ("Machine learning methods for estimating probability density functions of transmission loss: robustness to source frequency and depth") and second place went to Matthew Charles Zeh ("Model-data comparison of sound propagation in a glacierized fjord with a variable ice top-boundary layer"). Hearty congratulations go to the following individuals: (a) ASA Fellow: Chen-Fen Huang (for contributions to geoacoustic inversion of ocean state estimation); (b) Medwin Prize in Acoustical Oceanography: Chen-Fen Huang; (c) Rossing Prize in Acoustics Education: Preston S. Wilson; and (d) A.B. Wood Medal and Prize: Julien Bonnel. TCUW-led special sessions included (1) CNTBT IMS: A global sensor network with scientific and civil applications in hydroacoustics (Nielsen/Bradley/Zampolli/Haralabus), and (2) Ship source level estimation: Methods and measurements (Tollefsen/Knobles/Hannay).

The 179th meeting (spring 2020) of the Acoustical Society of America in Chicago was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Administrative and technical committee meetings were conducted remotely. The following is a synopsis of the information which was shared with members of TCUW in lieu of an in-person meeting: (a) New members for "Term to 2023" were welcomed to TCUW, many of which are ASA Fellows whose primary field of interest is UW Acoustics but whose TCUW membership had lapsed. We now have 102 members. (b) Special thanks to the following people who have served TCUW in the following capacities up to May 2020: Bill Siegmann (Membership Committee), Tony Lyons (Medals and Awards Committee), Alex Padilla (Student Council), and Roger Logan (ASACOS). (c) The following people have graciously volunteered to serve TCUW for the upcoming year and beyond: Mohsen Badiey (Membership Committee), Preston Wilson (Medals and Awards Committee), Mark Langhirt (Student Council) and Jason Summers (ASACOS). (d) Special sessions originally scheduled for the spring and fall meetings of this year (2020) are postponed to Seattle in the spring of 2021. The currently planned special sessions are: "Acoustics of underwater explosions", "Machine learning in underwater acoustics", and "The waveguide invariant theory and its applications". (e) The Fall 2020 ASA meeting originally planned for Cancun is now scheduled to be a 100% virtual meeting during the week of Dec. 7-11, 2020, entitled "Acoustics Virtually Everywhere". (f) Special thanks to Derek Olson for serving as our TPO Rep. for the cancelled May 2020 meeting as well as our upcoming virtual meeting in Dec. 2020. (g) The International Year of Sound has been extended into 2021. See https://sound2020.org for more details. (h) Mark Langhirt, our new Student Council representative, posted his report online at https://tcuwasa.org/student-interests.

The chair sincerely thanks the many volunteers who make the activities of TCUW possible.