This report covers the activities of the Technical Committee on Underwater Acoustics (TCUW) and its members during the period from June 2020 and June 2021. The 179th meeting of the Acoustical Society of America, originally scheduled for Spring 2020, was rescheduled for Dec. 7–11, 2020, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 179th meeting was a "virtual" (100% online) meeting. The theme of the meeting was "Acoustics Virtually Everywhere" (AVE). All plenary, technical, and administrative meetings were conducted remotely. All technical presentations were recorded in advance. The following is a synopsis of the information shared with members of TCUW via email in lieu of an in-person meeting: (a) News and information regarding the current and upcoming meetings. (b) JASA News: Jim Lynch has offered to stay on as Editor for another term. Journal stats continue to be good and improve. Special Issues, Collections, and Reflections continue to be popular. JASA CDs were phased out in January 2020. (c) JASA-EL News: Stats continue to be good and improve. JASA-EL became an independent journal January 2020, and will be online only and open access. (d) POMA News: Meghan Ballard is our new POMA Editor. Any ASA-approved co-sponsored meetings/workshops/conferences can publish conference papers in POMA. Papers from any previous ASA meeting can be published at any time. (e) Student Council: A report by our TCUW Student Rep., Mark Langhirt was shared. (f) ASA kicked off the new ASA Webinar Series in January 2020. Special thanks to Derek Olson for serving as our TPO Rep. for the 179th ASA meeting.

The 180th meeting of the Acoustical Society of America, held during June 8–10, 2021, was the second "virtual" (100% online) meeting, due to ongoing concerns of the COVID-19 pandemic. The theme of the 3-day online meeting was "Acoustics in Focus" (AiF). All plenary, technical, and administrative meetings were conducted remotely. The following is a synopsis of the information which was shared with members of TCUW during the online Technical Committee meeting, led by the incoming TCUW Chair, Jie Yang: (a) New members for "Term to 2024" were welcomed to TCUW. We now have 105 members. (b) Subcommittee reports were provided (ASACOS, Membership, Student Council and Awards/Medals). (c) Requirements for Best Student Paper Awards were reviewed for the upcoming meeting. (d) Recognition for recent award recipients: (1) ASA Gold Medal to James F. Lynch; (2) R. Bruce Lindsay Award to Julien Bonnel. (e) Recognition of new ASAFellow Jee Woong Choi, for contributions to the field of acoustic reflection and scattering from the seabed and geoacoustic inversion. (f) Reports on journal news (POMA, JASA-EL, and JASA) were provided. (g) Comments and stories were shared in memoriam of John Preston. (h) Special thanks to the following people who are serving TCUW in the following capacities: Mohsen Badiey (Membership Committee), Preston S. Wilson (Medals and Awards Committee), Mark Langhirt (Student Council), and Jason Summers (ASACOS). (i) A panel discussion was held on "Underwater sound modeling: Comprehensive

environmental descriptions." (j) Special sessions led by TCUW included: (1) Long term acoustic time series in the ocean; (2) Seabed Characterization Experiment 2017 studies; (3) The effects of COVID-19 on global ocean soundscapes.

Congratulations to Dr. Jie Yang who was recently elected as Chair of TCUW for the next 3-year term. Sincere thanks are extended to the many volunteers who make the activities of TCUW possible. D. Benjamin Reeder Chair, 2018–2021